Discovery of the Week: You Can Freeze Cream

So the other day I made a birthday cake for my friend (it was amazing – recipe here, from Deb at Smitten Kitchen). Instead of chocolate fudge frosting, I went for the other option, whipped cream (which I topped with grated chocolate fudge). However, I bought the whipped cream a week in advance without thinking, and then realized it might not last that long.

So I Googled ‘can I freeze cream?’ and came up with this helpful post by David Lebovitz, which basically says: yes, if you shake it well after it defrosts.

I was still suspicious (I don’t know why, since I knew perfectly well that milk and butter both freeze just fine, and cream is really just something in between) but I thought it was worth a try.

I took 750 mL of cream out of the freezer and put it in the fridge on Saturday morning. It was defrosted by Sunday evening. I let it come up to room temperature for about an hour before shaking it thoroughly and beating it together with 1/3 of a cup of icing sugar. It looked a little funny at first but came together perfectly.

Half-eaten espresso cake
Half-eaten espresso cake

PS. One other thing I learned is that NZ cream is generally 35% fat, whereas cream in France is just 30% fat and doesn’t whip that well.

Leave a Reply

