Discovery of the Week: JK Rowling’s Shock Announcement

I’m a little behind the times (geddit) but I just found out yesterday that JK Rowling (author of the Harry Potter books, as if you didn’t know) recently admitted in an interview that:

For reasons that have very little to do with literature and far more to do with me clinging to the plot as I first imagined it, Hermione ended up with Ron.

As a teenager, I was genuinely scared that this woman might possibly die before finishing book 7
As a teenager, I was genuinely scared that this woman might possibly die before finishing book 7

Unsurprisingly, for those of us who grew up as Harry Potter fans, this has resulted in lots of distressed comments on the internet. I think this is my favourite:

Spoiler alert: Harry and Ginny are married at the end of book 7
Spoiler alert: Harry and Ginny are married at the end of book 7

But the weirdest discovery this week? I’m really not worried about who JK Rowling REALLY ships.

3 thoughts on “Discovery of the Week: JK Rowling’s Shock Announcement

    1. I don’t think she has ruined the series. Yes, it throws a new light on the old Harry/Hermione/Ron triangle. But an interview, nearly seven years after the series ended, about a single aspect of the characters’ relationships, doesn’t make everything that was awesome about the Harry Potter books disappear.

      1. Ok, maybe ruin is a strong word. Haha.

        I think that her saying that might change the way new readers look at the characters. Those who heard her words first before picking up the books might look at the trio differently from how we view them. They probably would root for Harry and Hermione, and might just see Ron as the third party. The dynamics of the trio would no longer be the same for them as it was for us.

        If I pick up a new book previously hearing from the author that the pairing was a mistake, I might root for the ‘correct’ pairing and end up disliking an important character in the story. This might just happen to new HP readers. I do hope it doesn’t though.

Leave a Reply

